New Year, New Goals

I have promised to myself and a friend that I would write more this year.  Of course, “more” is an easy bar to jump over since last year was “none”. I agree enthusiastically that this needs to happen, but as with all projects, getting started is the hardest part.

I thought I would change the name of my blog page to something other than Fairy Ninjas but I was encouraged not to since it does have meaning and a warm memory associated with it.  It also represents my view that people are never one thing; they can’t be described with one noun or adjective.  I am female by anatomy and identity.  But I am also a mother, a sister, a wife, a friend, an engineer, a knitter.  I could be described as smart, funny, sarcastic, loud, introverted, friendly, book lover, sensitive, conflict avoiding, demanding, and kind.  I call to mind often the TED talk by Chimamanda Adichie about the danger of a single story (it’s excellent, watch it).

In this universe of constant commentary by everyone and everyone else judging the value of that commentary, I ask myself the following:

  • Why would someone care what I have to say?
  • What do I have to say that someone else hasn’t already?
  • How will I react to negative, often hurtful, things are said about my writing?

I don’t have answers yet but realized that I’m asking the wrong questions.  What I should be asking is what I will get out of the exploration and expression.  I pride myself on my vocabulary and choosing the exact word to express thoughts and ideas precisely.  I read previous blog posts or papers written for school or work and I am pleased by what I wrote. I need to exercise that verbal muscle, for no better reason that writing will help clarify and expose thoughts that are rattling around.

So please hold me accountable.  I state here that I will have one blog post of substance per month.  “Substance” meaning it requires research and cited sources.  Other posts may be more rambling and clearing of the mental attic and I will have one of those per month as well.  This one counts for January, of course.

Thank you to anybody that takes the time to read this.  Thank you for sharing your valuable time with me.

One thought on “New Year, New Goals

  1. welcome back, fairy ninja! first off – please don’t change your blog’s name – it’s perfect! secondly, i enjoyed reading this entry – i think we all need a bit of motivation from time to time, whether it’s motivation to ‘do’ something or to think about something. i just reread your ‘knitting is an engineering exercise’ and found it just as interesting as last year and just as worthy of some thought.
    i’m looking forward to your february post – and yes, i shall hold you accountable!
    cheers
    molly

Leave a Reply

